Small Changes, Big Value

There comes a point when enlightenment can become confusion. When seeking out new ideas, thoughts and viewpoints can make one become overwhelmed by the sheer volume of information that is now readily available.

I’ve written before about my personal ambition to become more continuously aware of emerging HR and to seek out alternative views and during that process it’s not always been easy.

Sure, there is always new content. The HR community, especially on Twitter write lots of new and interesting blogs and share lots of articles, and whilst it’s not possible (neither do I desire) to read everything, its easy to glance over a few new pieces per day, leaving the more detailed stuff for when time permits.I don’t mean to sound ungrateful for this, as i’m not. Its a priveliged position to be in and I’m glad that I now have these connections and am exposed to this content, but my point is that, personally, it can all become quite confusing too.

For every point of view, there is an alternative. For every person who supports appraisals/competency-based interviews/MBTI there will be someone who will give a counter-view. This is healthy but it can make you wonder what you should and shouldn’t believe, what is both good advice and what is not.

I’ve recently reflected on my own continuous professional development to remind myself of why I changed things up two years ago, on why I started reading more, networking more and why I started engaging with the HR community on the level that I now do, and it made me realise that my aim, simply, was to improve. To know more stuff, to be better at what I do, to aid my career, to be exposed to new ideas to increase my knowledge and to be able to do more valuable work.

What i’ve realised is that much of what i’ve read is about the big changes. It’s about the radical improvements, the revolutionary ‘disruption’ and the impact on future changes. This is all important stuff, but, to be better at what I do, to achieve what I set out to achieve, i’ve also realised that it’s not only important for HR pro’s to focus on the big stuff, but its equally as important to look at doing the day-to-day work better too.

Taking the time to review every word that we draft on a job advert, avoiding cliches and investing in accuracy over spin is a small change that can have a big impact.

Spending time to genuinely think of the problem that i’m trying to resolve, before jumping to a solution, can take a relatively short time and will avoid a false economy. Being more evidence-based can help us make a small change that can have a big impact.

Making slight changes to how we greet candidates for an interview, design the icebreaker of a training course, draft letters, support an employee suffering with ill-health are all examples of how we can make small changes and yet be substantially more effective in our roles.

Sometimes it’s not just about the big stuff, the everyday tasks are just as important too.

Leave a Reply

